Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements & Costs in 2022

Mississippi Real Estate License requirements

In this article, we will cover the step-by-step Mississippi Real Estate License requirements including schools, costs, exam content, and Mississippi real estate licensing FAQs.

Select a Mississippi Real Estate License requirements topic in our table of contents below or read from start to finish.

The best part is that you can complete these Mississippi Real Estate License steps almost entirely online. However, you should keep in mind that you will still need to take your Mississippi real estate license exam in person.

This article outlines the steps you must take to obtain your Mississippi Real Estate License but before we get to that, it’s good to be familiar with the Mississippi Real Estate Commission.

What Is the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC)?

What is the Mississippi Real Estate Commission

The Mississippi Real Estate Commission is responsible for regulating the real estate industry in Mississippi. The commission oversees licensing and education requirements for real estate professionals, investigates complaints, and enforces real estate laws.

The commission is made up of seven members, including the chairman. The membership includes four real estate professionals, two consumers, and one public member.

The commission meets quarterly to discuss updates to regulations, new programs, and other issues affecting the industry.

If you are interested in becoming a real estate professional in Mississippi, you must meet the education and licensing requirements of the commission.

Mississippi Real Estate License Prerequisite Requirements

You must meet the following prerequisite qualifications if you wish to work as a real estate agent in Mississippi:

  • Be a US citizen
  • Be at least 18 years old.

Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements

Assuming you have met the basic prerequisites listed above, here are the steps you will need to take to become a real estate agent in Mississippi.

Step 1: Complete the Mississippi Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course

As a prospective real estate agent, you must complete 60 hours of real estate courses from a college or a Mississippi-approved pre-license education provider. The majority of people prefer to take their pre-licensing courses online, and conveniently finish at their own pace.

What Are the Best Mississippi Real Estate Pre-Licensing Schools?

If you are looking to get your Mississippi real estate license online, we recommend the following online real estate schools:

  1. The CE Shop Mississippi (read our CE Shop reviews)
  2. Mississippi Real Estate Express Pre-Licensing (read our Real Estate Express reviews)

This pre-licensing course includes study materials such as real estate practice exams and flashcards to help people better understand the content.

The main goal of taking a pre-licensing course is to help you prepare for the Mississippi real estate exam, not just to fulfill a requirement.

Mississippi does not usually require the final pre-license exam to be taken under the supervision of a proctor. It is critical to understand that this exam is not the same as the state exam.

Your pre-license education provider offers this test to demonstrate that you have completed and effectively retained the information from your pre-license education course.

Step 2: Apply For Your Mississippi Real Estate License

Following the completion of your pre-license education, the next step is to apply for your Mississippi Real Estate License. When applying, complete the Mississippi real estate license application form and submit it to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission. Caution should be exercised to ensure that each question is properly answered. Failure to do so will result in your application being returned to the applicant.

Here are further instructions on completing the Mississippi Real Estate License application (PDF).

A Certificate of Completion that highlights your education requirements, such as the official transcript, grade report, and a copy of the certificates, as well as an application fee, are required to accompany the application. Your application must be notarized and submitted to MREC within 60 days of the notary date. This application usually costs around $120.

Step 3: Take the Mississippi Real Estate Licensing State Exam

The Mississippi Real Estate Commission will send you a letter of eligibility once your application has been approved. You can take the real estate exam after you have been approved to proceed with the process of applying for your Mississippi real estate license.

You will take the Mississippi real estate exam through PSI.

Here is an in-depth pdf from PSI that goes through the Mississippi real estate licensing exam requirements in detail.

What Are The Best Mississippi Exam Prep Courses?

If you want to have a better chance of passing the Mississippi real estate exam on the first attempt, you may want to consider an optional exam prep course. We recommend the follow Mississippi real estate exam prep courses:

  1. PrepAgent Mississippi Real Estate Exam Prep (read our PrepAgent reviews)
  2. Real Estate Exam Scholar Mississippi (read our Exam Scholar reviews)

How Much Does the Mississippi Real Estate Exam Cost?

The cost of taking the Mississippi real estate exam is $75 for each attempt.

How Many Questions Are On The Mississippi Real Estate Exam?

The Mississippi real estate exam typically consists of 120 questions, 80 of which are found in the General section and the remaining 40 in the State section.

You will have 240 minutes to complete the real estate license exam. The General section lasts 150 minutes, while the State section lasts 90 minutes.

What Is The Passing Score for the Mississippi Real Estate Exam?

The passing score for the Mississippi Real Estate Salesperson Exam is typically set at 56 out of 80 questions correct in the National section and 30 out of 40 correct in the State section.

You will be given a document indicating whether you passed or failed your exam as soon as you finish it. If the document is marked “Fail,” you will be given a score in each exam section to help you assess your performance. If you decide to retake the exam, use this as a reference guide.

How Hard is the Mississippi Real Estate Exam?

The Mississippi Real Estate Salesperson Exam typically has a pass rate of 75%. It’s a little difficult, but passing on the first try isn’t impossible. Simply being Keen throughout your pre-licensing course will increase your chances of passing your Mississippi real estate license.

On the PSI Mississippi Real Estate page, you can register to take your exam. This page also contains additional useful resources such as the Candidate Handbook and Content Outline.

Mississippi Real Estate License Application Review

After you pass your exam, the only thing left to do is wait for your license to be issued. This procedure takes approximately 3-5 business days. Following that, you will receive an email from the Mississippi Real Estate Commission containing your license document.

Step 4: Find a Mississippi Sponsoring Broker

Obtaining certification from a sponsoring broker is an important part of the Mississippi real estate license application process. Look for the best real estate brokerage firms in the area to which you can affiliate your Mississippi real estate license.

What Is Real Estate Reciprocity?

Reciprocity is an agreement between a real estate commission and another state’s real estate regulatory authority (usually also a Commission) to recognize license requirements (including testing) between the two states.

Full reciprocity means that a licensee from another state who wants to obtain an equivalent license in Mississippi does not need to take any additional education or exams.

If the agreement is only partial, a reciprocal licensee will most likely be required to take the Mississippi portion of the licensing exam as well as possibly some education before the license can be issued. To learn more about their state’s reciprocal requirements should contact the MREC at info@mrec.state.ms.us.

The states with full reciprocity with Mississippi are:

  1. Connecticut
  2. Georgia
  3. Iowa
  4. Louisiana
  5. Massachusetts
  6. Utah
  7. New York (for broker licensees ONLY)

Several states have partial reciprocity agreements with Mississippi. These states’ licensing requirements differ. You must contact MREC for specific instructions on how to get your license from these states reciprocated.

The following states have a partial reciprocity agreements with MREC:

New Mexico
North Carolina
South Dakota
West Virginia
The District of Columbia

Anyone wishing to become licensed in Mississippi from a state with which it does not have reciprocity must take the Mississippi pre-license education, just as those without a real estate license must. The only difference here is that a person residing in another state must use the non-resident application. The resident application is used by anyone who lives in Mississippi.

Mississippi Post-Licensing Education Requirements

Within the first year of your initial licensure, you will be required to complete 30 hours of education. These will be similar to the pre-license education you received prior to taking the Mississippi real estate license exam.

Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements FAQs:

How Much Money Does It Cost to Get a Mississippi Real Estate License?

The total cost of obtaining a Mississippi Real Estate license is estimated to be $400-$665. This includes about $200 in licensing costs and the pre-licensing cost of about $199 to $465.

How Do I Become a Mississippi Real Estate Agent?

To obtain a Mississippi real estate license, you must follow the steps outlined by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC):

• Complete 60 hours of approved Mississippi Pre-Licensing education
• Pass the final exam for the course
• Locate a Sponsoring Broker
• Obtain a Mississippi Real Estate License (this will be a temporary license)
• Pass the Mississippi Real Estate Exam.
• Complete 30 hours of post-licensing education
• Obtain your permanent license.

How Long Does It Take To Get A Real Estate License In Mississippi?

Due to all the requirements that must be met, the time it takes to obtain your Mississippi salesperson real estate license varies from person to person: Coursework, exam, background check, and application processing are all part of the pre-licensing process. Completing the 60 hours of Pre-Licensing education will take up a significant amount of your time.

What Are Mississippi Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements?

Mississippi requires 30 total hours of Post-Licensing training, which must be completed within 12 months of the temporary license’s issuance. After you have completed your 30 hours of post-licensing education, you may apply for the issuance of your permanent license.

What is the Distinction between a Mississippi Real Estate Agent and a Broker?

A Salesperson in Mississippi is typically less experienced than a Broker. There are also more requirements for becoming a Broker than for becoming a Salesperson. To become a Broker, for example, you must have held a valid sales license for at least a year.

Can I Become a Mississippi Real Estate Agent if I have Felonies or Misdemeanors?

You must apply to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission for authorization to become licensed if you have been convicted of a crime. You will also have to provide a criminal background check. Visit MREC or contact them for additional information.

What are the Continuing Education Requirements for a Mississippi Broker?

You need 16 total hours of Continuing Education, and the license renewal period is every two years.

How Much Does a Mississippi Real estate Agent Make on Average?

When calculating average real estate salaries, several factors are considered, including the number of real estate transactions per year and commission fees. According to ZipRecruiter, a full-time real estate salesperson in Mississippi can expect to earn between $50k and $85k per year. A Mississippi real estate salesperson can earn more than six figures per year among higher earners.

Is Residency in Mississippi Required to Receive a License in The State?

Yes, you must be a resident of Mississippi to get a real estate license.

What Courses are Needed to Obtain a Mississippi Real Estate License?

Mississippi mandates 60 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education. The CE Shop can help you learn more about your Mississippi Pre-Licensing package options.

Where Do I Go to Get My Mississippi Real Estate License?

There are numerous locations where you can take your Mississippi real estate license exam, and they are not all in Mississippi. The following locations are authorized to administer your exam:

• Jackson
• Metairie, Louisiana
• Baton Rouge, Louisiana
• Mobile, Alabama
• Memphis, Tennessee

Is the Mississippi Real Estate Exam difficult?

Each student’s level of difficulty in real estate education differs. That’s why we recommend enrolling in PrepAgent or Real Estate Exam Scholar, so you not only know what’s on the Mississippi Real Estate License Exam but also have the confidence to ace it.

Can I Get My Mississippi Real Estate License Online?

You can complete your pre-licensing education requirements with an online real estate school. But to actually obtain your Mississippi real estate license, you must take the final in-person state real estate exam.

Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements – Final Thoughts

As an aspiring real estate agent who has been wondering how to get your real estate license in Mississippi, do not look past our step-by-step guide!

These are easy-to-follow instructions that will help you obtain your license faster. We have elaborately laid out all the requirements you are required to meet before you can obtain your license and begin your trade. We have all the documentation in place, as well as the fees that are needed for every step.

Armed with all the above knowledge, there is simply no reason why you cannot become an established real estate agent in Mississippi. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.