Massachusetts Real Estate License Requirements & Costs

Massachusetts real estate license requirements

In this post, we’ll outline the Massachusetts real estate license requirements, and costs involved, and provide some helpful tips along the way. So if you’re ready to start your real estate career in Massachusetts, read on!

You can select a Massachusetts Real Estate licensing topic in our table of contents below or keep reading from start to finish.

Massachusetts Real Estate License Requirements

Anyone wanting to be a real estate salesperson must have reached 18 years old and have a valid social security number or tax identification number. Assuming you meet those basic prerequisite requirements, here are the next steps to get your Massachusetts real estate license.

Step 1: Take a Massachusetts Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course

Before enrolling in a Massachusetts real estate school for pre-licensing classes, ensure that it is state-approved. The material must be covered by all of the schools on this list. Pre-licensing real estate classes will cover the following topics:

  • Property rights
  • Title transfers
  • Basic contract law
  • Agency relationships
  • Brokerage operations and responsibilities
  • Property disclosures
  • Financing for real estate
  • Property valuation
  • Federal real estate laws
  • Massachusetts real estate laws
  • Real estate math

When choosing a Massachusetts real estate school, you will have three basic instructional formats to choose from. You can choose between in-person classes, Livestream classes, and online ‘at-your-own-pace’ classes.

You will then complete 40 hours of MEREB-approved pre-licensing education and take an exam.

We recommend The CE Shop for your Massachusetts real estate pre-licensing. You can also read our CE Shop real estate school review here.

Step 2: Apply for the Massachusetts Salesperson Exam & Real Estate License

Following the completion of your pre-licensing classes, the next step in becoming a real estate agent in Massachusetts is to complete the application for examination.

You will not be able to take the Massachusetts real estate exam until you have completed the following procedure requirements:

  1. Provide proof that you are at least 18 years old.
  2. Submit a completion form from your real estate school demonstrating that you have completed the 40 hours of Massachusetts pre-licensing courses within the last two years.
  3. Submit three-character endorsements from people who are not related to you.
  4. Complete and submit all Massachusetts state tax returns and pay all state taxes.
  5. Supply your Social Security or tax identification number.
  6. Pay a $31 application fee and a $54 exam fee.

Once you’ve been approved to take the M.A. real estate license exam, you can visit the testing company’s website to schedule your exam.

Massachusetts real estate license testing sites include:

  • Auburn
  • Boston
  • Fall River
  • Lawrence
  • West Springfield

Step 3: Sit and Pass the Massachusetts Real Estate Salesperson Exam

The Massachusetts real estate salesperson exam is 4 hours in duration (you are always advised to show up 30 minutes before the scheduled exam).

You will take the salesperson exam on a computer at one of the Massachusetts PSI testing centers. You will be notified if you passed the exam as soon as you finish it.

If you fail both sections of the Massachusetts real estate license exam, you will receive a diagnostic report outlining your strengths and weaknesses. This report should help you prepare for your retake exam.

Within two years of completing your prelicensing classes, you may retake the exam as many times as you need. You must therefore pay the exam fee each time you schedule a retake.

Massachusetts is an interesting state in that if you pass the test, you can get your license right away.

The Massachusetts real estate license costs between $103 and $150 (plus a $12 processing fee) because the fee is prorated based on your birth month.

How Do I Schedule the Massachusetts Real Estate Exam?

When your license application has been approved, you can schedule the Massachusetts real estate exam. To schedule an exam online, go to http://www.psiexams.com.

The simplest and quickest way to schedule your exam is online. Otherwise, you can schedule an appointment by emailing examschedule@psionline.com.

How Much Does The Massachusetts Real Estate Exam Cost?

The exam costs $85 and can be paid for with a credit card, debit card, voucher, or check made payable to PSI. If you are in the military or a veteran, the fee is $54.

If you need to cancel or change your exam reservation, please call (800) 274-7292 at least two business days in advance. You will forfeit the exam fee if you do not call and change your exam location 48 hours before the exam.

Carry along with you two forms of identification with you to the exam. A primary form of identification, such as a state driver’s license, military I.D., or U.S. passport, must be government-issued and include your photo.

A secondary I.D. card, such as a U.S. Social Security card, debit or credit card, or another form of primary identification, must bear your printed name and signature.

The Massachusetts Real Estate Candidate Handbook contains information on exam schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 4: Get Your Massachusetts Real Estate License

If you pass the exam, meet the licensing requirements, and pay the licensing fee, you will receive your Massachusetts Salesperson License immediately at the test center. To receive their license, all candidates must arrive at the testing center prepared.

Licensing fees are calculated and prorated at the exam center based on Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112, Sections 87XX and 87ZZ.

Salespeople’s fees typically range from $103 to $150. PSI also charges a license fee of $12.

Cash payments are not permitted. Payments can be made by credit card, personal check, cashier’s check, or money order made payable to “PSI.”

If you do not receive your license at the center for any reason, you will be given a Massachusetts Real Estate License Application Instruction Form that must be mailed within 30 days.

Congratulations on obtaining your real estate license in Massachusetts! In the state of Massachusetts, you can now start your career as a real estate agent.

Step 5: Join a Massachusetts Real Estate Brokerage

In Massachusetts, real estate agents are required by law to work under the supervision of a broker. A broker is a professional realtor who has received additional training and passed the broker exam.

Choosing the right brokerage can be difficult, which is why we recommend meeting with several brokerages before deciding where to work.

During these interviews, you’ll learn how you’ll split your real estate commissions with the brokerage. Some brokerages, for example, offer a 50/50 split, whereas others may offer a higher percentage but charge a monthly desk fee.

Each brokerage will also discuss your cap or the maximum amount of commissions that the brokerage will be able to collect from you in a year. Any commissions earned in excess of the cap are yours to keep.

How Much Does It Cost to Become a Real Estate Agent in Massachusetts?

Let’s go over all of the costs you’ll face if you want to get your real estate license in Massachusetts. Here is a list of all the fees you will be required to pay as an aspiring agent in Massachusetts.

  1. Massachusetts Real Estate Pre-Licensing – $229-$499
  2. $31 for a test application
  3. $54 for test registration
  4. At most, the license fee is $150.
  5. Access to the MLS – $20-$40/month
  6. E&O insurance is $30 per month.

The total cost of being a real estate agent in Massachusetts is approximate $450-$750.

Massachusetts Continuing Education Requirements

Once you are a licensed real estate agent in Massachusetts, you must complete 12 credit hours of approved continuing education every two years.

You can complete these 12 hours of approved continuing education through an accredited and licensed real estate school at any time during the 24 months preceding your Massachusetts real estate license’s expiration date.

What is the Massachusetts Real Estate Board?

The Massachusetts Real Estate Board (MREB) is a professional organization that provides education and regulation of real estate brokers and salespersons in the state of Massachusetts. Established in 1910, MREB is the oldest and largest real estate board in New England.

MREB’s mission is to protect the public’s interest in real estate transactions through the licensure, education, and regulation of real estate brokers and salespersons. MREB accomplishes this by:

  • Providing educational programs for both licensees and consumers
  • Investigating complaints against licensees
  • Enforcing the Real Estate License law and regulations

All real estate brokers and salespersons in Massachusetts must be licensed by MREB. In order to become licensed, individuals must meet MREB’s education and experience requirements, pass a state licensing exam, and agree to abide by MREB’s Code of Ethics.

What States Does Massachusetts have Reciprocity?

If you have a real estate license from another state, you may be able to practice in Massachusetts without necessarily completing all of the licensing steps outlined in our post. Normally, each state has its own set of rules, but here are the states that currently have “complete reciprocity” with Massachusetts:

  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • West Virginia

However, if you’re a real estate agent who does not reside in any of the aforementioned states, you may still be eligible for license reciprocity. The Massachusetts Real Estate Board website has more information on license reciprocity.

If you have a real estate license in Massachusetts, you can work as an agent in one of these states without having to go through the entire licensing process:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

Massachusetts Real Estate License Requirements FAQs

Is the Massachusetts real estate exam hard?

To obtain your Massachusetts real estate license, you must achieve a score of at least 70% on both the general and state-specific tests. Despite the fact that the state licensing board does not release official success statistics, students who complete their 40 hours of prelicensing instruction with The C.E. Shop have a 91 percent pass rate on the Massachusetts real estate exam.

How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Massachusetts?

It takes two or three months to become a real estate agent in Massachusetts, and you can potentially finish the 40 hours of required classes in one week. The rest of the time will need to be spent studying, filling out applications, and finding a broker to work under.

How much money do real estate agents make in Massachusetts?

According to Indeed, real estate brokers in Massachusetts earn an average of $84,681 per year. Naturally, this pay is contingent on commissions earned from assisting clients with purchasing or selling real estate.
It may take some time for your real estate sales to take off, but word will eventually spread about how great of a customer service provider you are. You may choose to keep your day job until that time comes to supplement your income while you have a new real estate license.

How much money does it cost to become a real estate agent in Massachusetts?

The cost of obtaining a real estate license in Massachusetts is approximately $600. When it comes to getting a real estate license in Massachusetts, the exam and application fees, for example, are the same for everyone. However, some fees, such as seminars and exam study materials, are subject to change.

Can I get my Massachusetts real estate license online?

Yes, you can complete all of the prelicensing classes required for your Massachusetts real estate license online. You will, however, need to go to a testing center to take the state’s licensing exam.
You have the option of finishing all 40 hours of required prelicensing classes in one week!

Massachusetts Real Estate Licensing Requirements – Final Thoughts

To make your dream of being a real estate agent in Massachusetts come true, we hope our step-by-step guide to the real estate license requirements proved helpful! These are easy-to-follow instructions that will help you obtain your license faster.

We have elaborately laid out all the requirements you are required to meet before you can obtain your license and begin your trade. With this knowledge, there is simply no reason why you cannot become an established real estate agent in Massachusetts. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.