Maine Real Estate License Requirements
In this article, we will cover all the Maine Real Estate License Requirements and the costs to complete these steps.
If you want to become a Maine real estate agent, there are several things you are required to do to begin your real estate career in the beautiful state of Maine.
Getting your Maine real estate license is quite simple if you follow the steps we outline.
You can select a specific topic from our table of contents below or keep reading from start to finish. Learn everything you need to know about getting your real estate license in Maine!
What Are The Maine Real Estate License Prerequisite Requirements?
Before you can start the process of getting your real estate license in Maine, you will need to meet a few basic prerequisites.
These include being a minimum of 18 years of age, possessing a high school diploma or GED, and being a lawfully admitted resident of the United States.
Maine Real Estate License Requirements
Step 1: Complete A Maine Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course
One of the first things you will need to do in the process of getting your real estate license is to complete a pre-licensing course.
The Maine sales agent pre-licensing course helps you prepare adequately to take the real estate exam in Maine. It will also fully equip you with the necessary information you require to launch your real estate career. You can take this course online or in a traditional classroom setting.
The 55-hour pre-licensing education for aspiring Maine real estate agents will cover the following topics:
- Real estate property characteristics, legal descriptions, and property use.
- Types of Maine property ownership, transfer, and recording of the title.
- Property value and appraisal.
- Maine Real estate contracts and agency.
- Maine Property disclosures and environmental issues.
- Settlement and finance.
- Calculations of Real estate math.
- All about the MREC (Maine Real Estate Commission).
- The rules of Maine which govern activities or licensees.
- Law of agency/brokerage.
- Maine-specific principles and practices.
Step 2: Schedule and Pass the Maine Real Estate Exam
The real estate salesperson exam in Maine is divided into two parts, The general practice portion consists of nationally based questions, whereas the Maine law section asks state-specific questions.
All real estate examinations in Maine are given through Pearson Vue. Pearson Vue allows you to make a reservation for your exam either by reaching them on the phone or using the Pearson Vue website.
Before your exam, you are expected to carry your course completion certificate to the testing center. This certificate is usually valid for one year after passing the pre-licensing course.
What Should You Expect on the Maine Real Estate Exam?
In Maine, you are required to take a 55-hour real estate pre-licensing course and pass the exam with a grade of 75% or higher. You’ll be required to take two exams in the process of getting your Maine real estate license. The first is this pre-licensing exam and then followed by the state exam.
There are 120 questions on the Maine Real Estate Exam, which break down to 80 questions for the National segment and 40 in the State section.
To complete the exam, you will have 240 minutes (4 hours) to do so. There are, therefore, 150 minutes (2.5 hours) that have been set aside for the National portion has an allocated time of 150 minutes (2.5 hours), and the State section has an allocated time of 90 minutes (1.5 hours).
What Are The Required Passing Scores For the Maine Real Estate Exam?
To pass the Maine Real Estate Salesperson Exam you will need to at least answer 60 out of 80 questions correctly in the National section and get at least 30 out of 40 questions correct in the State section.
The score report will show if you have a “pass” or a “fail.” If you get a passing score, you’ll be advised on the next steps to follow towards your Maine real estate license.
If you have a ‘fail,’ you may reschedule and retake the exam within 24 hours of the failed attempt. There are unlimited chances for you to retake the exam; however, it must be before the expiration of your pre-licensing courses, which are usually valid for one year. If a year has passed by, you will be required to retake the course.
The real estate exam is usually administered via computer. This ensures that you can get to know how you fared immediately as soon as the exam is done.
The test location is normally administered in Bangor and Westbrook. To receive your real estate license, you have to pass the Maine real estate exam with an overall minimum score of 75%.
We recommend that you take a Maine real estate exam prep course before taking the state exam.
What Do You Bring To the Maine Real Estate Exam?
Two forms of valid identification (ID) with signatures. These could be any of these:
- Primary ID (with photo and signature): A United States driver’s license, learner’s permit, or another government-issued ID card, such as a passport/passport card, military ID, green card, or permanent residence visa.
- Secondary ID (with signature): Social Security card, debit or credit card, or any other form of identification on the primary ID list.
- The original Certificate of Completion of the Course (completed by a school official)
What’s The Average Real Estate Exam Pass Rate in Maine?
Unfortunately, the Maine Real Estate Commission (MREC) does not provide the average exam pass rate for Maine.
How Much Does The Maine Real Estate Exam Cost?
The cost of the Maine Real Estate Exam is $85. You can pay the $85 Maine real estate exam fee directly through the Pearson website using a credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check.
The official administrator of the Maine real estate exam is Pearson VUE. You can book your exam directly on the Pearson VUE website, and you’ll also get a copy of the Maine Candidate Fact Sheet for more information.
How Hard is the Maine Real Estate Exam?
The Maine Real Estate Salesperson Exam has a passing rate of 75%. Although the test is challenging, diligent preparation can help you pass it on the first try. As mentioned previously, we suggest you take a Maine real estate exam prep before taking the test.
You can register for your exam on the Pearson Vue Maine Real Estate page. Other useful resources, such as the Candidate Handbook and Content Outline, are available on this page.
Step 3: Get Your Maine Real Estate Licensee Background Check Completed
Another requirement you ought to fulfill is to pass a criminal record check. You will be required to pay about $21 for this background check, and you will pay for it when you apply for your license.
The Maine Office of the Professional and Occupational Regulation (MOPOR) is in charge of running a criminal history record check as part of the application process.
Step 4: Submit Your Maine Real Estate Application
After you pass the Maine real estate exam, it’s now time to submit your real estate application.
The Maine Real Estate Commission (MREC) usually handles all real estate license applications in the state. The application and licensing fees are usually set at a nonrefundable fee of $121. The fee here includes the fee for the application, the license, and the background check process.
You must submit your real estate license application within one year of passing your real estate examination.
You must fill out this application accurately by including your original real estate examination results and course completion certificate.
It is highly recommended that you are open about whatever criminal background you may have. This is because the committee is still going to assess your entire history during the background check. Any form of falsification will only make your application declined. If you are honest, your application has a greater chance of being accepted.
Having a previous criminal conviction in your background does not necessarily mean that you are disqualified from pursuing a real estate career.
The licensing board will review your license application and consider factors such as the severity of the offense you have done and how long ago you committed this offense.
If the licensing board finds you trustworthy and honest, there is a higher likelihood that you will be allowed to pursue further steps to get your Maine real estate license.
Maine Real Estate Application Review
Once you’ve passed your exam, you will be required to wait for your license to be issued. The process usually takes between 5-10 business days.
After the period has lapsed, you will get a letter from the Maine Real Estate Commission with a license document. In addition, you can also check the status of your application on Maine’s Online System.
Step 5: Hang Your New License With a Maine Real Estate Brokerage
To perform real estate services in the state of Maine, it is a requirement for you to be affiliated with a specific real estate brokerage whenever you get licensed.
The importance of this is that it allows you to learn the ropes early on about how to be a great real estate agent on your own in the future (should you decide to become a broker).
Here, the sponsoring brokerage firm gives you mentorship, and in return, you may be required to pay part of your commission with them.
Getting the best real estate agency to work and get experience under usually begins with assessing different options and selecting the best firm, e.g., the brokerage firm with the best commission structure, the support they give realtors, their reputation, and much more.
To get you started on your search for sponsoring brokerages, see the list of agencies in the table below. These are well-established companies that have sold substantial volumes of sales.
Consider joining these Maine real estate brokerage companies, after your due diligence of the company and if it would be a good fit for you.
Maine Associate Broker License Requirements
You should be aware that your real estate sales license in Maine is usually valid for two years. Also, of importance to note the Sales Agent license is usually not renewable, and you will therefore be required to apply for the Associate Broker license.
However, to be able to do this, you will need to have been actively affiliated with a real estate agency for 24 months.
To boost your eligibility to qualify for the Associate Broker license, completing about 21 hours of continuing education every two years is mandatory. These 21 hours will include a three-hour core course and some elective courses.
What Is The Maine Real Estate Commission (MREC)?
The Maine Real Estate Commission (also known as MREC) is a state agency that regulates the real estate industry in Maine. They are responsible for issuing licenses, investigating complaints, and enforcing the state’s real estate laws.
The Maine Real Estate Commission is made up of nine commissioners who are appointed by the governor. The commission has several departments, including the Enforcement Department, which investigates complaints and prosecutes violators of the law; and the Licensing Department, which issues and renews licenses.
If you have a complaint about a real estate agent or broker, you can file a complaint with the Maine Real Estate Commission. Their website has information on how to file a complaint, as well as FAQs and other resources.
The Maine Real Estate Commission is an important part of the real estate industry in Maine, and they work hard to protect consumers and enforce the law. If you have any questions or concerns about real estate in Maine, the Maine Real Estate Commission is a good place to start.
What’s the Cost of Getting Your Maine Real Estate License?
The estimated cost of getting a Maine Real Estate license is $900-$1,100. Here is a breakdown:
- Maine Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education (Estimated): $600-$800
- Maine Real Estate Exam: $85
- Maine Application Fee: $100
- Background Check Fee: $21
Does Maine Have Real Estate License Reciprocity?
Maine is among the few states that offer full reciprocity with all 50 states. This means that Real estate agents already licensed in other states are not required to take MREC’s pre-licensing courses.
However, they must still pass the background check and the state portion of the Maine real estate exam to get their license.
What Are The Maine Real Estate Portability Rules?
In regards to portability, Maine is also a physical location state.
This means that realtors coming from other states can do real estate business in Maine but are not allowed to physically enter the state to do business. The out-of-state agents must do all out-of-state business remotely and are restricted from entering the state to participate in showings and closings.
The cost of the pre-licensing courses usually differs from school to school. You must select an accredited and accepted school by Maine’s Real Estate Commission.
Maine Real Estate License Requirements FAQs
Who is eligible to become a real estate agent in Maine?
To qualify for a sales agent license in Maine, you need to be at least 18 and hold a high school diploma.
What is the deadline for my Maine real estate license application?
After passing both portions of your state licensing exam, you have one year to turn in your application.
How often does a Maine real estate license have to be renewed?
Your real estate license needs to be renewed every two years in Maine.
What are Maine’s real estate pre-licensing education requirements?
MREC requires a 55-hour Sales Agent pre-licensing training from an approved source. Topics like these must be included in the curriculum:
Maine Real Estate Licensing – Final Thoughts
So are you still thinking about a career in real estate? Great!
To become a licensed real estate agent in Maine, you should now know everything you need, from the requirements for getting your license to the cost of tuition.
If you are ready to take the next step, here are some of the best Maine real estate schools for pre-licensing.
With perseverance, you will have your real estate license in Maine in no time! Good luck!
We also cover the real estate license requirements in every state if you want to learn more about your neighboring states.
About The Author: This article was researched and published by Tim Schroeder. As a husband and wife real estate team residing in Florida, Tim Schroeder brings deep expertise with over 8 years of experience as a licensed real estate agent.
Deb and Tim Schroeder have earned numerous real estate industry awards and recognitions. They have been recognized by Orlando Magazine as a “Top 100 Real Estate Professional” as well as earned Top Producer Designations with the Orlando Realtor Association for 6 years straight.