Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements & Cost in 2023
In this blog post, we’ll outline the Louisiana real estate license requirements and give you an idea of the costs involved in getting your license.
After reading this post, you should have a good understanding of how to become a licensed real estate agent in Louisiana.
Louisiana is abundant in human and natural resources such as oil, natural gas, commercial fishing, chemicals, agriculture, and more. That is why an increasing number of people are choosing to relocate to work and live in Louisiana. Getting your real estate license in Louisiana is a smart choice and can pay off in hefty commissions and a fulfilling career. Let’s get started with the requirements.
Choose a topic in our table of contents below or continue reading step by step.
To practice real estate in Louisiana, all individuals must obtain a Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC) sales associate or broker license.
What Is The Louisiana Real Estate Commission?
The Louisiana Real Estate Commission, or LREC, is a state-run organization that oversees the real estate industry in Louisiana. They are responsible for licensing and regulating real estate professionals, as well as enforcing Louisiana’s real estate laws.
If you’re thinking about buying or selling property in Louisiana, it’s important to know who the LREC is and what they do. They are responsible for ensuring that all real estate transactions in Louisiana are conducted fairly and in accordance with the law.
If you have any questions or concerns about Louisiana’s real estate laws, the LREC is a great resource. You can visit their website at https://lrec.gov/ to learn more about their organization, and find out how to contact them if you need help.
If you’re thinking of becoming a real estate agent in Louisiana, you’ll need to satisfy some prerequisites before you can start practicing.
- You’ll need to be at least 18 years old.
- You’ll need to have received a high school diploma or GED.
- You must be a United States citizen or lawful permanent resident
I’m sure the vast majority of you reading this article have likely met those two basic prerequisites so let’s get started with the step-by-step Louisiana real estate licensing requirements
Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements
Step 1: Complete the Required Pre-Licensing Courses
The first requirement to get your Louisiana real estate license is to enroll in 90 hours of pre-licensing courses. Courses can be completed in a classroom or online through an accredited real estate school, or by correspondence.
How Much Does Louisiana Real Estate Pre-Licensing Cost?
Real Estate pre-licensing courses in Louisiana range in price from $195 to $795, depending on the school, learning package you have chosen, and type of education.
For example, the 90-hour Louisiana Colibri Real Estate pre-licensing course is currently for sale at $201.60 to $362.60 depending on what package your choose.
The CE Shop currently has Louisiana pre-licensing at a discount of $209.25 to $359.25. Keep in mind that the $359.25 package at The CE Shop also includes your required post-licensing courses.
Colibri Real Estate Louisiana Pre-Licensing Cost:
The CE Shop Louisiana Pre-Licensing Cost:
What Are The Best Louisiana Real Estate Schools?
If you are looking to get your license online, we recommend the following top real estate schools:
The Louisiana Pre-Licensing Course Covers:
- Ownership of Louisiana Property
- Louisiana Land use regulations and controls
- Market research and valuation
- Agency Principles in General
- Disclosures about Louisiana property
- Louisiana Contracts
- Louisiana Property management and leasing
- Louisiana Title transfer
Did you know that the real estate sales associate prerequisite course is waived for any active Louisiana State Bar Association member who is in good standing and qualified under the real estate license law?
Step 2: Pass the Louisiana Real Estate Examination
After you’ve completed your Louisiana real estate pre-licensing education, you’ll need to create an account on the MyLREC Portal and submit a few documents before you can register for the exam, which is made up of 2 sections, the National portion and the State portion, and lasts three hours in total.
If you fail the National or State portion of the exam, you are not required to retake the entire exam.
To reschedule your next attempt, you must apply for new examination eligibility from the LREC and pay a $15 fee. It costs an extra $85 to retake all or part of the Louisiana real estate exam, and you can reschedule as many times as you need within a year.
Louisiana Real Estate Exam Specifications
- The exam is 135 questions with 80 questions about national-based questions and 55 questions about state questions.
- The time limit is 180 minutes.
To pass the Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Exam, you must have a passing score of 70%
Two forms of valid identification with signatures, one of which is a government-issued photo ID.
Unfortunately, unlike other states, Louisiana does not publish an average passing rate.
How To Schedule Your Louisiana Real Estate Exam
After completing all of your coursework and the final exam for your online program, you must obtain LREC approval to schedule your Louisiana real estate exam.
To do so, go to MyLREC and upload a certificate of course completion and the Salesperson License Application – Part A, along with a $90 fee. An application takes four to twelve weeks to process and approve.
You will receive an email confirmation when you are approved to schedule your Louisiana real estate license exam.
The Louisiana real estate exam is provided by PSI, a national provider for state licensing exams, and PSI can be reached by phone, fax, mail, or email. Creating an account and registering on the PSI Exams website, on the other hand, is significantly faster and more efficient.
After creating an account, you can search for available locations and exam dates and pay the $85 exam fee.
How Hard Is The Louisiana Real Estate Exam?
The Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Exam has a 70% passing rate. This test is difficult, but paying attention during the pre-licensing program and studying well can help you pass on your first try. We have listed some optional real estate exam prep courses below.
You can register to take your exam on the PSI Louisiana Real Estate page. You will also find additional useful resources such as the Candidate Handbook and Content Outline.
If you are worried about passing the final exam, check out this Louisiana real estate exam prep course. It’s worth the cost and will help you feel more confident.
Step 3: Request a Background Check
To apply to be a Louisiana real estate agent, you must first pass a Clearbox background check. Fill out your name, address, and date of birth, and then pay the $49 fee on the website to order your background check.
A copy of your background check results goes straight to the LREC. Since your background check results expire after 180 days, the LREC advises you to wait until you have passed your real estate exam before ordering your background check.
You will have to reorder the results if they expire before your license is issued.
Step 4: Decide on a Louisiana Brokerage To Hang Your License
To keep your Louisiana real estate license active, you must find a sponsoring real estate brokerage to affiliate your license with.
Although there are many successful brokerages in Pelican State, the top five Louisiana brokerages reported for 2021 are listed below.
Step 5: Get Louisiana Real Estate Errors & Omissions Insurance
All Louisiana real estate professionals must purchase errors and omissions (E&O) insurance to keep their license active, which protects real estate businesses from mistakes.
This coverage protects you against claims based on errors in your professional services. It is required of all real estate licensees. You can purchase the LREC group policy or another equivalent E&O insurance policy.
LREC collaborates closely with Rice Insurance Services Company (RISC), where a group policy can be purchased. Costs for RISC begin at $136 per month and decrease to $17 per month over a year.
You can also select your provider and submit the Louisiana Independent Errors and Omissions Coverage form.
Salesperson License Application Part B is the final form you need to include. The LREC portal is used to submit all paperwork. However, obtaining the LREC group policy will accompany your license during any transfer or upgrade process.
With a passing Louisiana real estate exam score, a background check order, and proof of E&O insurance payment, you’re finally ready to apply for your Louisiana real estate license!
Step 6: Submit Your Louisiana Real Estate Application
After passing and completing the checklist, you will only have to wait for your license to be issued.
Here are the forms needed to submit your Louisiana application to the LREC.
This process normally takes 5 and 10 business days.
You can use the LREC Verify License Search to see if your license is still valid. If you have any questions, please contact LREC at (225) 925-1923 or email@example.com.
What Are Louisiana Reciprocity and Portability Rights?
Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee have full reciprocity agreements with Louisiana.
If you have a real estate license in one of these states, you can apply for a Louisiana Real Estate Reciprocal License on the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC) website.
It also has cooperative portability, meaning out-of-state real estate professionals can physically enter the state to practice real estate without a Louisiana license.
How Much Does It Cost To Become a Louisiana Real Estate Agent?
Getting a real estate license in Louisiana costs approximately $650.55. Here’s the cost breakdown:
- Louisiana Pre-licensing with exam prep – $338.80
- Louisiana Exam fee: $36.75
- Background check – $49
- Louisiana Application fee- $90
- LREC E&O – $136
Once you have your real estate license, you will have to account for other business expenses such as an MLS subscription, a laptop, travel expenses, advertising, and marketing.
Although taking a Louisiana real estate exam preparation course is not required, you may wish to invest in it. It can improve your chances of passing the exam on the first try, saving you time and money.
What Are The Best Louisiana Exam Prep Courses?
After you take your pre-licensing course but before you take the state exam, we recommend the following two Louisiana real estate exam prep courses:
Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Requirements FAQs
How long does it normally take to become a real estate agent in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, getting a real estate license takes about four months. However, it also depends on how long it takes you to complete the required pre-licensing education, exam, background check, application, and obtain sponsorship from a licensed Louisiana real estate broker.
Which states have reciprocity with Louisiana for real estate licenses?
The LREC has reciprocal agreements with Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania.
To apply and get a reciprocal license, you must be a current legal resident of one of these states and hold a license in one of these states. If you already have an active salesperson license in another state, the LREC may waive some of the pre-licensing education requirements.
You must, however, complete the 30-hour portion that covers the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Agency Law, and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. You must also complete the State Portion of the exam.
Can you get a real estate license if you have a felony or criminal record in Louisiana?
This is determined by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC), which decides if the applicant with a felony will be denied a real estate salesperson license.
They are mainly concerned with the incidents that call into question the applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness, character, and integrity.
The actual approval is contingent on how the LREC evaluates the case.
Anyone who has been convicted of a felony must fill out the Felony Applicant Form.
Among the documents that you may be required to produce are:
A letter from you detailing your current community status, including employment and civic involvement. Include a list of any other criminal or felony convictions and their current status.
If you have a Louisiana sponsoring broker, you must submit a letter from that broker stating that they are aware of your prior conviction.
Letters of recommendation from two well-known members of the Louisiana community.
If the offense was committed in another state, a copy of the court minutes describing the offense and the penalty imposed must be provided.
Include a certified copy of your judgment or commitment order if your felony conviction is a federal conviction.
You must also include an official letter from your Louisiana probation officer confirming that your probation has been terminated or the date your probation will end if you are currently on probation.
All of the above paperwork should be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org or mailed to 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809.
Applicants with a prior criminal record may still apply to become a Louisiana real estate agent.
It is preferable if applicants include their criminal history on their application and any necessary documents related to the conviction (if any). Your application is then forwarded to the Division of Criminal Justice Information Systems and the FBI after submitting fingerprints.
Following an investigation, each applicant will be evaluated on their own merits.
Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements – Conclusion
Obtaining a real estate license in Louisiana can be a simple process! Simply follow the step-by-step guide we’ve provided above.
If you are ready to get started, we like the Colibri Real Estate pre-licensing course. Another good option is the course by The CE Shop.
Wishing you all the best in your future Louisiana real estate career!
View the Real Estate License Requirements for another state.
About The Author: This article was researched and published by Tim Schroeder. As a husband and wife real estate team residing in Florida, Tim Schroeder brings deep expertise with over 8 years of experience as a licensed real estate agent.
Deb and Tim Schroeder have earned numerous real estate industry awards and recognitions. They have been recognized by Orlando Magazine as a “Top 100 Real Estate Professional” as well as earned Top Producer Designations with the Orlando Realtor Association for 6 years straight.